Good Old Polaroid!

Well in this day and age of digital I have to admit I sure miss shooting Polaroid. Back in the day  this was the only way us photographers could determine lighting and composition. Without it you were all alone in how your shot might come out. Not that it was a perfect rendition of what the final image would like on film, but it came pretty damn close.

Ring light test 1

Unless you live in the dark ages Polaroid shut their doors last year to many of cries from the photo world. but alas why would we need Polaroid when everyone and their two year old has a digital camera or phone that captures images. True I would agree. Who needs to get caustic acid on their hands pulling these damn things apart and then discarding all that trash in a land fill? I will admit that I do. I miss Polaroid!

Ring Light Test 3

So when I heard Polaroid was shutting down. What did I do? Right I rat holed several boxes. Knowing that  one day I would find a use for it, and if not I could always sell it on Ebay for millions. My opportunity to use it though came up the other day when my son and his second grade class put on the play James & The Giant Peach. WhenI heard about it I thought well that would make a good personal project to shoot. I would make a studio backstage and shoot portraits of the kids in their costumes. How to test my light and composition? Of course that Polaroid that has been stashed under my mattress in case I was robbed. Well here are a few Polaroids from that shoot. Just hard to beat that cool look they give. Enjoy! I will be following up this post with the finished images of the shoot shortly. Since I shot film that may take a couple of weeks since it had to be fedexed out to the lab. Hmmm. Maybe I should have shot digital you ask? Maybe. But the anticipation of waiting to see the results and  the possibility of Fed ex loosing my film? Priceless!

Test Image #4

About James Ray Spahn Photographer
James Ray Spahn is an award winning architectural, interior, lifestyle and resort photographer. He shoots for architects, interior designers, developers, manufacturers, shelter magazines and resorts. www.jamesrayspahn.com

Leave a Reply

